Hair Donation

By Saithan Pattamapongpon 
 December 8, 2016

15356109_960032820807584_1675944739_n

Thinking about donating your hair to help make wigs for women who have lost their hair as a result of cancer treatment?

          Hair is an important part of body; it will protect your head from sun damage and makes you feel more confident. So, everyone always takes care of their hair but not everyone has hair to take care of.

          Chemotherapy is the use of drugs to reduce or stop the abnormal growth of cancer cells. Not all of them cause hair loss. Chemotherapy drugs are usually given in cycles (sometimes weekly or every two or three weeks) and the amount of hair loss depends on the type of drug, the dose and the timing of treatment. Our project is to help children who have hair loss due to the effects of chemotherapy. If you are interested in donation, your hair needs to be at least 10 inches long to be used in wig making. The hair must be clean, in good condition and in a ponytail when it is cut.

222  15415959_959904307487102_1168606030_n
Long hair                  VS                Short hair
Photo by Thanapa Jumroendee

My First Hair Donation Experience

          I had very long hair it made me uncomfortable and made my friends uncomfortable, too. They always said “Shorty!  Your long hair makes you look like dwarf.” my friends were just kidding me. But I have strong reason why I must take care of it. Till last July, my hair is longer than 30 – 32 inches, I decide to cut it and put it into parcel packaging. Yes, I sent my hair to National Cancer Institute to make wigs. Although I did not receive a reward, I feel so good. I think someone wonders why I don’t cut it when it was longer than 10 inches. My answer is many people love to have long hair including cancer patients. They don’t have a lot of choices. But for me everyone in the world is fair and they should have choices to choose. So, I want to make long hair wig for them to choose.

ooo
Photo by Mallika Kaewhan

          Having short hair is not a bad thing because you will look younger and more beautiful. When you cut your hair it will make your face outstanding and your natural beauty can really come through. Long hair make you look beauty outside but cut it off for someone will make your beauty radiate from inside your heart.

 

 

⇒ Contact : Nahtiaz@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

